SOL Day 7: Relax and Enjoy

Like most people my age, I have many pots on the stove that I am stirring. The kids. Work. My family. The house. The dog. Oh and my husband. Reading. Writing. Laundry. Groceries. And so on…

So when I looked at my calendar and was reminded that Stephen and I are headed to NYC this weekend for a mini-college reunion with his University of Delaware crew… I was conflicted. Not because of who I would be with… not because of what we would be doing… not because of where we would be… but rather, because I will ‘lose’ all the precious time of my weekend.

I will not have time to get six loads of laundry done. I will not have the time to get the groceries done. I will not have the time to get ‘ahead’ (if there is such a thing!) on my work for next week.

But, as I drove to work this morning, I decided to look at it differently. I am going with the positive.

I will get to see people I haven’t seen in years. I will get to to chat with Patty on the way there and back… and she is one of those people who I adore and we have so much in common, but don’t see each other enough. I will get to relax and enjoy a ‘schedule-free’ weekend. But most importantly, I will get to spend time with my husband that is not interrupted by basketball games, college visits, laundry, groceries, and whatever else comes flying at us on a typical weekend.

I will get to relax and enjoy!

***And thanks to Melanie Meehan for reminding me that I’m going to lose an ADDITIONAL hour this weekend!

7 thoughts on “SOL Day 7: Relax and Enjoy”

  1. I am in this same boat! We have a fun girls weekend planned and I couldn’t stop thinking about everything I wasn’t going to be able to do instead of being excited for some good old fashion girl time. Enjoy your weekend!

    Like

  2. Sorry about that reminder! I like the repetition in your piece, and the varying sentences made the stress come right off the page. That being said, go GET TO, even though it’s for an hour less time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your pot will still be on the stove when you return . . . and even if you were home for the weekend, five minutes after you cleaned the house, did the laundry, purchased the groceries, etc. it would all be undone! So why not enjoy the weekend! Always love reading your slices!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment